Craftsperson of the Year

An award reserved for members of Canada’s Building Trades Unions that seeks to showcase outstanding craftsmanship, professionalism and safety leadership of a skilled tradesperson through their contributions on a maintenance project. 

Members of Canada’s Building Trades Unions represent the most skilled, safest and highly trained tradespeople in the country. Working in cooperation with Project Owners and Signatory Employers, this membership base is responsible for building the infrastructure and projects that all Canadians stand to benefit from.

The Craftsperson of the Year Award seeks to identify and showcase the exceptional craftsmanship of a tradesperson across a number of performance categories.

How does it function?

In the form of a written nomination successful candidates will outline their exceptional performance in at least one or more of the established performance categories. Nominations are to be submitted by the Client, Employer or Union on behalf of the nominated employee. It is beneficial to include quantifiable numbers and metrics to support their nomination.

Only one nomination can be submitted per organization, per job site.

A sub-committee will review all applications and determine the winner. The winner, along with their Employer, will be invited to the Awards Banquet to receive their awards.

Who is awarded?

The “CPOY” Award is open to all apprentices, journeypersons and (general) forepersons executing maintenance work under a GPMA or NMA collective agreement.


The deadline to submit a nomination is March 31st, 2020.


  • Scheduling
  • Budget & Cost Effectiveness
  • Productivity
  • Quality of Work
  • Collaboration & Teamwork
  • Health & Safety
  • Leadership
  • Ingenuity & Innovation
Recent Posts

CLICK HERE to view the 2021 CS2A Winners!